Become familiar with WorldEdit's general features such as history.
When you select a region or change your preferences in-game, your information will be put into a temporary session that will be kept active as long as you stay logged in. Upon disconnecting, your session will be discarded in 10 minutes, allowing you to log back in and retain your session. On SMP, each person's session is kept separately.
- Your current selection
- Your history
- Your block change limit
- Your selected snapshot to restore from
All operations save to your history and it's capable of remembering up to the last 15 operations. The history logs each change as the previous block and the new block whenever WorldEdit changes a block. If you ever want to rollback after some change, type
//undo in chat. If you change your mind, you can type in
//redo in chat to repeat the operation (from history).
If you need to clear your history, you can use the
Block data support
WorldEdit supports block data to ensure that whenever you paste a copy or undo a change, you will get exactly what you want. For examples of block data, sapling blocks remember their growth status and signs remember their text.
Support for the block data is listed below:
|Block||Block data support||Tile entity data support|
|Bukkit||Single player||Bukkit||Single player|
|Water and lava||Yes||Yes|
|Sign||Yes||Yes||Yes||NO (sign text)|
|Note block||Yes||NO (note)|
|Mob spawner||Yes||NO (mob)|
Note: Blank fields mean that that block doesn't use that type of data (there are two types of data: regular block data and tile entity data).
Item data support
Additionally, when WorldEdit moves items around in chests (if chests are supported), it keeps track of data for those items as well. Support is detailed below.
|Item||Item data support|